New York State Democratic Party

Our Party

Party Leadership


Jay S. Jacobs

Jay Jacobs, Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee

Jay S. Jacobs is the Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee. Jay Jacobs was first elected to the position of Nassau County Democratic Chairman in October of 2001. Since becoming Chairman, the voters of Nassau County have re-elected a Democratic Majority in the County Legislature in 2001, 2003, 2005, and 2007, and have elected two Democratic County Executives, two District Attorneys, two County Comptrollers, three Town Supervisors, and a County Assessor. In 2005, Jacobs and the committee made history by helping to elect Kathleen Rice, who became the first ever female District Attorney in Nassau.

In 2017, Chairman Jacobs and the Nassau County Democratic Committee continued to make history in helping to elect the first female County Executive in Nassau County’s history, and the first Democratic Supervisor in the Town of Hempstead’s history. In 2018, the Nassau County Democratic Committee swept all five New York State Senate Races in Nassau County, helping to switch the balance of power in the chamber from Republican to Democratic control. In doing so, they elected the first ever Iranian-American New York State Senator, and the first ever Indian-American New York State Senator.

Read More

Under Jay’s leadership, the Nassau County Democratic Committee has raised more money and elected more Democrats than ever before. Because of the political successes orchestrated by Jacobs and the County Committee, Nassau County now has a more diverse group of elected officials and judges than ever before. Nassau County, for more than a century, a bastion of Republican organizational prowess – the suburban county Ronald Reagan once described as “Heaven” where Republicans go after they die, is now Democratic.

Jay Jacobs served as the Chairman of the New York State Democratic Committee from 2009 thru 2012, and returned to the post in 2019. He is the first ever New York State Democratic Chair to hold the position twice. Chairman Jacobs also serves as an At-Large Member of the Democratic National Committee, recommended by President Barack Obama.

Jay Jacobs is the CEO and major owner of the TLC Family of Camps & Inns which includes three sleep-away camps, three day camps, a pre-school, and two country inns. Some of his past professional affiliations include serving on the New York State Camp Health and Safety Council, President of ACA’s NY section, and President of the New York State Camp Directors Association. He is the founder of SCOPE (Summer Camp Opportunities Promote Education), a program that sends inner city children to not-for-profit camps. In 2001, Jay founded and currently serves as Chairman of Project Heal the Children, an ACA program that provides free summer camp experiences for the children of victims of the 9/11 tragedy.

Jay grew up in Forest Hills and graduated with a BA degree from SUNY Oneonta and a JD from Northwestern University Law School. Jay currently resides in Laurel Hollow with his wife Mindy. They have two daughters, Jessica and Jackie, along with two grandchildren, Landon and Brooklyn.

Executive Committee Chair

Christine Quinn

Christine Quinn, Executive Committee Chair

Christine Quinn is the Executive Committee Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee and the President of WIN, the largest provider of family shelter and supportive housing in New York City.

She formerly served as the Speaker of the New York City Council. The third person to hold this office, she was the first female and first openly gay speaker. As City Council Speaker, Quinn was New York City’s third most powerful public servant. During her time in the City Council, Quinn served as chair of the Health Committee. She sponsored the Equal Benefits Bill and the Health Care Security Act, which requires that city contractors provide parity in benefits between married spouses and registered domestic partners. Quinn was born in Glen Cove, New York, one of two daughters of Mary and Lawrence Quinn. She went to School of the Holy Child in the Village of Old Westbury on Long Island in New York, and graduated from Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut.

Executive Director

Alexander Wang

Alexander Wang

  • Pamela Hunter First Vice Chair
  • Latrice Walker Secretary
  • Timothy Perfetti Asst. Secretary
  • Kenneth Jenkins Treasurer
  • Lynne Boecher Asst. Treasurer
  • Michael Reich Sergeant-at-Arms
  • Michaelle Solages Policy Co-Chair
  • Shawn Hogan Policy Co-Chair
  • Tom Garry Counsel & Law Chair
  • Stuart Appelbaum Labor Rep
  • Jovan Richards Young Dems Rep
  • Kyle Bragg
  • Jen Hibit
  • Luis Montes
  • Mayra Linares
  • Santos Rodriguez
  • Donna Lupardo
  • James Scheuerman
  • Kathy Sheehan
  • Rachel Lavine 1st J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Dan Cohen 1st J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Shaquana Boykin 2nd J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Julio Pena III 2nd J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Kelleigh McKenzie 3rd J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Michael Monescalchi 3rd J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Sarah Burger 4th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Jay Bellanca 4th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Monica Perrotti 5th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Bill Magnarelli 5th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Emily Adams 6th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Willie Owens 6th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Marjorie Lawlor 7th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Lino Dianetti 7th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Jessica Schuster 8th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Ronald Giza 8th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Nicole Doliner 9th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • William Serratore 9th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Donna Nogin 10th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Barry McCoy 10th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Mary Plunkett 11th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Patrick Jenkins 11th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Helen Morik 12th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Tremaine O'Garro 12th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Rosemary O'Donnell 13th J.D. Representative (Female)
  • Andrew Poznanski 13th J.D. Representative (Male)
  • Elizabeth Ball Vice Chair
  • Emily Giske Vice Chair
  • Eve Guillergan Vice Chair
  • Trudy Mason Vice Chair
  • Grace Meng Vice Chair
  • Crystal Peoples-Stokes Vice Chair
  • Kenesha Traynham-Cooper Vice Chair
  • Lisa Sacco Vice Chair
  • Julie Shiroishi Vice Chair
  • Melissa Sklarz Vice Chair
  • Irene Stein Vice Chair
  • Anastasia Somoza Vice Chair
  • Andrea Stewart-Cousins Vice Chair
  • Nydia Velazquez Vice Chair
  • Jo-Ann Yoo Vice Chair
  • David Alpert Vice Chair
  • Jamaal Bailey Vice Chair
  • Jim Carr Vice Chair
  • Jason Clark Vice Chair
  • Steven Cohn Vice Chair
  • Jeremy Cooney Vice Chair
  • Carl Heastie Vice Chair
  • Hakeem Jeffries Vice Chair
  • Todd Kerner Vice Chair
  • Dan McCoy Vice Chair
  • Willie Rosas Vice Chair
  • Joe Rossi Vice Chair
  • Richard Schaeffer Vice Chair
  • Keith Wright Vice Chair
  • Jeremy Zellner Vice Chair